Piikani Nation Treaty

ALL GRIZZLY

READ THE SCIENCE!

Find out everything you ever wanted to know about the biology and ecology of grizzly bears. Authored by world-renowned bear biologist Dr. David Mattson, this site summarizes and synthesizes in beautiful graphic form the science of grizzly bears.

PIIKANI NATION TREATY

Find out how much Native Americans care about the grizzly bear, with a Grizzly Treaty that has been signed by more than 270 tribes, as well as numerous traditional societies and leaders. The document has become a symbol of international unity in defense of sovereignty, spiritual and religious protection, and treaty rights. 

MOSTLY NATURAL GRIZZLIES

For an in depth and comprehensive look at the ecology and demography of grizzly bears in the northern US Rocky Mountains, along with all the research relevant to conservation of these bears, see Mostly Natural History of the Northern Rocky Mountains.

GOAL TRIBAL COALITION

GOAL is a coalition of nearly 50 tribes  (and counting) who object to the federal and state plans to delist grizzly bears prematurely and allow trophy

hunting of this sacred being.

GOAL advocates for the tribes'

legal right to meaningful consultation and also for the reconection of tribal peoples to their traditional homelands

Legal / Copyrights      II     Website disclaimer    II     Terms of Use    II     Privacy Policy      II     About Us     II      Blog       II      Grizzly Times Podcast     II      FAQs   II    Contact Us

This website and its content is copyright of Grizzly Times © Louisa Willcox 2017. All rights reserved

CONTACT STATE AND FEDERAL WILDLIFE AGENCIES

 
 

Write! Email! Call! Visit!

Take Innitiative - Take Action

However you choose to write your legislators, to be effective you must remember the following basics:

  • Address only one issue in each letter

  • Keep it to one page.

  • Include the purpose of your communication.

  • Include your personal perspective.

  • State why you care about this issue and why he/she should care too.

  • Include the associated bill number 

  • Say what you want them to do.

  • Add your full name and return address

MONTANA FISH WILDLIFE AND PARKS

FWP Headquarters

Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks

1420 East Sixth Avenue

P.O. Box 200701

Helena, MT 59620-0701

406-444-3186

 

Director Jeff M Hagener      

406-444-3186

Email: jhagener@state.mt.us

           

Deputy Director Paul Sihler

406-444-3196

E-mail psihler@state.mt.us  

 

Deputy Director Mike Volesky

406-444-4600           

E-mail: mvolesky@state.mt.us

Montana Fish and Wildlife Conservation Office

4052 Bridger Canyon Road

Bozeman, Montana 59715

406-585-9010

Lynn_Arment@fws.gov

Grizzly Bear Recovery Coordinator

ECOLOGICAL SERVICES FIELD OFFICE

University of Montana

University Hall, Room 309

Missoula, MT 59812-1120

406-243-4903

 

Chris Servheen, Ph.D.

Grizzly Bear Recovery Coordinator

Grizzly Bear Biologist

grizz@umontana.edu

chris_servheen@fws.gov

 

Wayne Kasworm

Team Leader - Cabinet/Yaak Ecosystem Program

Grizzly Bear Biologist - FWS

wayne_kasworm@fws.gov

 

Thomas Radandt

Team Leader - Grizzly Capture & Handling

Grizzly Bear Biologist - FWS

thomas_radandt@fws.gov

 

Rebecca Shoemaker

Policy Biologist - UM/FWS

rebecca_shoemaker@fws.gov

 

Kate Smith

Operations Director - UM/FWS

kate.smith@cfc.umt.edu

 

Justin Teisberg

Team Leader - Physiology & Nutrition

Grizzly Bear Biologist - FWS

justin_teisberg@fws.gov

MEETINGS

Link to information on WYOMING Game and Fish public meetings

http://wgfd.wyo.gov/wtest/wgfd-1001683.aspx 

 

Link to information on MONTANA Fish Wildlife and Parks  public meetings

http://fwp.mt.gov/doingBusiness/insideFwp/commission/upcomingMeetings.html

 

 

WYOMING GAME AND FISH DEPARMENT

Office of the Director
5400 Bishop Boulevard
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82006
307-777-6000


Director: Scott Talbott:  scott.talbott@wyo.gov

Deputy Director of Internal Operations: John Kennedy   JohnKennedy@wyo.gov

Deputy Director of External Operations: Mark Konishi   MarkKonishi@wyo.gov

Executive Assistant: Sheridan Todd    SheridanTodd@wyo.gov
Planning Coordinator: Glenn Pauley   GlennPauley@wyo.gov

 

Casper Regional Office
3030 Energy Lane, Suite 100
Casper, WY 82604
307-473-3400

 

Cody Regional Office
2820 State Highway 120
Cody, WY 82414
307-527-7125 

 

Jackson Regional Office
420 North Cache
Jackson, WY 83001
307-733-2321 

 

Lander Regional Office
260 Buena Vista
Lander, WY 82520
307-332-2688

 

IDAHO GAME  & FISH DEPARTMENT

Headquarters

P.O. Box 25

Boise, ID 83707

208-334-3700

idfginfo@idfg.idaho.gov

 

Virgil Moore

Director  

virgil.moore@idfg.idaho.gov

 

Sharon Kiefer 

Deputy Director - Programs and Policy:   

sharon.kiefer@idfg.idaho.gov

 

Jeff Gould

Wildlife Bureau Chief:    

jeff.gould@idfg.idaho.gov

208-334-2920

 

Southeast Region
1345 Barton Road
Pocatello, ID 83204
208-232-4703

 

Mark Gamblin              

Southeast Regional Supervisor  

mark.gamblin@idfg.idaho.gov  

 

Toby Boudreau             

Regional Wildlife Manager          

toby.boudreau@idfg.idaho.gov

 

Upper Snake Region
4279 Commerce Circle
Idaho Falls, ID 83401
208-525-7290

 

Steve Schmidt

Regional Supervisor

steve.schmidt@idfg.idaho.gov

 

Daryl Meints

Regional Wildlife Manager

daryl.meints@idfg.idaho.gov

 

MEMBERS OF THE WESTERN ASSOCIATION OF GAME AND WILDLIFE AGENCIES

Jay Lawson  

jay.lawson@wgf.state.wy.us  

 

Wildlife Division Chief Brian Nesvik     

brian.nesvik@wyo.gov

 

Richard Klouda Game and Fish Commission, Lander      

richard.klouda@wyo.gov

 

INTERGENCY GRIZZLY BEAR STUDY TEAM

IGBST members are representatives from the U.S. Geological Survey, National Park Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. Forest Service, the Eastern Shoshone and Northern Arapaho Tribal Fish and Game Department, and the States of Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming.


Frank T. van Manen, Team Leader

406-994-5043
fvanmanen@usgs.gov

 

INTERAGENCY GRIZZLY BEAR COMMITTEE

IGBC Mission: Recover, manage, and secure the future of grizzly bear populations and their habitat so that grizzly bears no longer require protections afforded by the ESA.

 

Interagency Grizzly Bear Committee (IGBC)

USDA Forest Service

Federal Building - 200 East Broadway

Missoula, MT 59802

406-329-3434

igbc@igbconline.org

 

US FISH & WILDLIFE

Director - Daniel M. Ashe

1849 C St.,

NW Washington, DC 20240

202-208-5634

 

Mountain-Prairie REGION

134 Union Blvd, Suite 400

Lakewood, CO 80228

303-236-7905

 

STAFF

Marla Trollan, Assistant Regional Director

303-236-4510

marla_trollan@fws.gov

 

John Bryan, Deputy for External Affairs / Legislative Affairs Specialist

303-236-4572

john_bryan@fws.gov

 

Ivy Allen, Tribal Communications Specialist

303-236-4575

ivy_allen@fws.gov

 

Ryan Moehring, Public Affairs Specialist

(Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming)

303-236-0345, 

ryan_moehring@fws.gov